Optimum Hyper Compound dusting. What am I doing wrong?

bird-keeper

Hi all. I'm brand new to the world of paint correction and optimum. I got turned on to Optimum products from watching youtube videos after looking for ways to better protect my DD. Two of the products I've been using recently is Hyper Compound and Hyper Polish. Hyper Polish is great and I've had no issues with it. But the Hyper Compound is dusting really bad even though it is supposed to be a zero dust product so I must be doing something wrong. Hoping the experts here can provide some feedback.

Here's my setup: PC7424 with 5" backing plate and orange hex logic pad used on a speed of 5. When I start off with a new pad, I'll saturate the pad with my detail spray (Infinite use detail juice), work it in a little bit by hand and then spin the pad on speed setting 6 to get the excess liquid off the pad. I'll then add my single spray of Hyper Compound. After dabbing the pad around by 1.5'x 1.5' working area, I'll begin to work. I usually only get one full pass covering the entire work area before the compound looks like it starts to dry up and begin dusting during my second pass of my cross hatch pattern. I've tried adding one spritz of detail spray and continuing to work but it just makes it really runny for a bit, then dries up again. I'm also using little to no pressure on the polisher so I'm not sure what else to change/adjust. Any ideas where I may be going wrong?

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Are you using the newest version of the compound, that is white? Or do you have one of the older versions, the orange or blue?