New member from Qc

bigPelo

Hello!

I am new to detailing and to OPT, glad I found this forum so I can ask my questions. I recently re-stored my detailing shelf with OPT products: Ferrex, car wax, opti-seal, ultra-cay towel, ONR and big red sponge, tire-bond and spray-gun, power clean, carpet and fabric cleaner, leather protectant and the brushes kit from TRC. 

In the past, I washed my cars with soap only, no wax or sealant, but payed a full detail job every spring. In 2017, my go to place stopped offering details and my SHO got clouded by HCl (yes hydrochloric acid!)  from an incident where I work.  So I decided to tackle the job myself. A Facebook add later and I was the proud owner of TopCoat F11... Not owning any special tools except 3 microfiber towels, a microfiber sponge and a synthetic chamois, I clean the car and apply F11. The car was looking great!

20180603_103005_zpsdm5qvp0g.jpg

20180603_102959_zpsbpdtrxq6.jpg

But the coating and gloss last a week. 

So I did a little research and couple youtube videos later, I bought a decontamination kit from SilverWax and Hydrosilex... So I practice on the Fiesta: pre-rince, bugs remover spray, foam bath, cleaned the wheels and tires,washed with 2 bucket, clay the car, dissolved iron oxide,  prepped with hydrosilex rewind and finally apply hydrosilex recharge.  The ST was looking great!

IMG_20180909_124730_263_zpsitoiucq5.jpg

20180909_124151_zpsqh0qhqbn.jpg

Then again, after a month, the lower side panels where holding dirt, but the rest of the car still look good. So before I work on Taurus again, I bought CarPro Iron-X and Tar-X and changed things up a little. This time the Taurus was pre-rinced, foam bathed, 2 buckets washed, Tar-X sprayed, rince, Iron-X sprayed, rince, clayed, prepped with rewind and protected with Recharge. After multiple hours, the deception was hard: paint looks horrible, the chrome trims are stained and the protection on the side lower panels is again weak.